Skip to main content

You are here

Mrs. Kimmel's Book Recommendations

Our librarian, Mrs. Kimmel took the time to share her favorite books with our families during this time of Social Distancing. Enjoy your reading!

 

1. Her favorite children's author - Mo Willems

Have fun with the Piggie & Elephant and Pigeon series. Here you can see all his books, have a dance party with Piggie & Elephant, explore all characters from all his books, download activities and watch videos: http://pigeonpresents.com/books/

New: daily doddle classes from the creator of Piggie and Elephant! They also have activity pages. https://www.kennedy-center.org/education/mo-willems

Other popular series of Picture Books that are recommended: Fly Guy, Pete the Cat, Pinkalicious, Olivia, Froggy, Bad Kitty, Pig the Pug, Fancy Nancy, Splat the Cat 

 

2. Most Popular Early Chapter Books (Branches 2.0 reading level and up)

 

0.5 point: Mercy Watson, Owl Diaries, Boris, Press Start (Super Rabbit Boy), Bad Guys, Mighty Robot, Haggis and Tank Unleashed, Kung Pow Chicken, Nate the Great

1.0 point: Dragon Masters, Notebook of Doom, The Last Firehawk, Kingdom of Wrenly, Heidi Heckelbeck, Daisy Dreamer, Tales of Sasha, Sophie the Mouse

 

3. Her Favorite Chapter Book Series

 

Magic Tree Househttps://www.ma​gictreehouse.com/ 1.0-2.0 points each

The stars of the Magic Tree House series are siblings Jack and Annie, who discover a magical tree house filled with books. Tapping on a book sends them on mystery missions (often involving time travel) throughout the world. Books are 1 to 2 point each starting at reading level 2.6. Read these books in order--they provide a natural progression of books getting harder and longer. There are also nonfiction companions for most of the books. Check the parent section for tips on how to get your student engaged on reading this series. Join the Magic Tree House Kids’ Adventure Club to travel the world and beyond with Jack and Annie, test your knowledge, and earn rewards—just by reading! Each time you finish reading a Magic Tree House book, try taking the Passport Quiz. If you pass, you’ll earn a special Passport Stamp that proves your knowledge! To print your own passport click here: https://promo.booksamillion.com/save/images/activities/mthpassport.pdf I cut the pages and put on a 99 cents plastic photo album from Walmart. 

 

Geronimo Stilton: https://geronimostilton.com/US-en/home/ 1.0-4.0 points each

Geronimo Stilton is an Italian children's book series. In the series, the title character is an anthropomorphic mouse who lives in New Mouse City on Mouse Island. A best-selling author, Geronimo Stilton works as a journalist and editor for the fictional newspaper. He has a younger sister named Thea Stilton. If your students like Geronimo Stilton and are reading 1.0 point books very fast, try "The Kingdom of Fantasy" books. Super fun fantasy with great illustrations! Fourteen books total with 3.0-4.0 points (14 books total). Very popular! Also try Thea Stilton Special Editions and Geronimo Stilton Journey Through time.

 

Other popular series of chapter books (1.0 - 2.0 points): The Rainbow Fairies, Junie B. Jones, Ivy & Bean, Judy Moody, A& Z Mysteries, Box Car Children, Flat Stanley Original & Worldwide Adventures, Puppy Place, Fairy Animals of Misty Wood, Galaxy Zack, My Weird School, Jack Stalwart

 

4. Heritage Oak's Most Popular Series'
 

Comics:

Dog Man https://pilkey.com/series/dog-man

Younger: Bird & Squirrel, Johnny Boo, Babymouse, Mr. Pants, Plants vs. Zombies, Legends of Zita the Space Girl, Hilo, Narwhal, Lunch Lady, Catwad, Cleopatra in space

Older: Raina Telgemeier's Books (Smile, Sisters, etc), The Baby-Sitters Club Graphic Novels, Phoebe and Her Unicorn, Amulet, Real Friends, Nathan Hale's Hazardous tales, Star Wars Jedi Academy

 

Funny:

Diary of a Wimpy Kid https://wimpykid.com/

Big Nate https://www.harpercollins.com/author/cr-105084/lincoln-peirce/

13 Story Tree House  https://www.treehousebookseries.com/

Stick Dog & Stick Cat https://www.stickdogbooks.com/

Timmy Failure https://timmyfailure.com/

The Terrible Two http://terribletwo.com/

Treasure Hunters https://www.jamespatterson.com/landing-page/james-patterson-books-treasure-hunters/

Dork Diaries (fun site for fans!) https://dorkdiaries.com/ 

Jacky Ha-Ha https://www.jamespatterson.com/?s=jacky-ha-ha

 

Fairy Tales:

Land of Stories (6 books) - great first thick book! Reading level in the 5.0 range but the story is so good, most students get 100% on the quizzes. First book is 15.0 points and may take a while to read if it is the first time reading a long book, but it is well worth it. The series has 6 books and students will become faster readers as they navigate through the series. More information here: https://thelandofstories.com/books

Story Thieves https://jamesrileyauthor.com/story-thieves-series

Half Upon a Time https://jamesrileyauthor.com/half-upon-a-time-series

E. D. Baker Books (The Wide Awake Princess) http://www.talesofedbaker.com/Books.html

Whatever After Books https://www.sarahm.com/whatever-after-series and https://kids.scholastic.com/kids/books/whatever-after/

Emily Windsnap (mermaids) https://www.lizkessler.co.uk/us/series/emily-windsnap/

(Fairly) True Tales Series (Rump, Jack, Red, Grump) https://lieslshurtliff.com/books

School of Good and Evil https://schoolforgoodandevil.com/

 

Fantasy: 

Harry Potter (scary starting with the 4th book!) https://www.wizardingworld.com/

Keeper of the Lost Cities (super popular!) http://www.keeperofthelostcities.com/

Nevermoor https://www.hachette.com.au/jessica-townsend/

Unicorn Rescue Society http://www.unicornrescuesociety.com/

Pegasus https://www.simonandschuster.com/books/The-Flame-of-Olympus/Kate-OHearn/Pegasus/9781442444102

The Alchemyst (her favorite ending ever!) http://www.randomhouse.com/teens/alchemyst/books.php 

Wings of Fire & Legends (has 3 graphic novels from the first 3 books too) https://kids.scholastic.com/kids/books/wings-of-fire/ and http://tuibooks.com/wordpress/wings-of-fire-series/

Fablehaven http://brandonmull.com/category/fablehaven/

Chronicles of Narnia https://www.narnia.com/us/books/

 

Adventure:

Rick Riordan and Rick Riordan Presents: Best seller series based on mythology. Start with "The Lightning Thief" http://rickriordan.com/

Unwanteds & Unwanted Quests http://www.lisamcmann.com/

Peter and the Starcatchers https://books.disney.com/book/peter-and-the-starcatchers/

Kingdom Keepers http://thekingdomkeepers.com/

Maximum Ride (has some romance) https://www.jamespatterson.com/landing-page/james-patterson-books-maximum-ride/ 

Michael Vey http://michaelvey.com/

 

Animals:

Warriors (cats) and other Erin Hunter series (Seekers - bears, Survivors - dogs, Bravelands - African Animals, very cool site for fans!) https://warriorcats.com/ 

Secret Zoo https://bryanchick.com/

Spirit Animals https://kids.scholastic.com/kids/books/spirit-animals/

Animal Ark by Ben Baglio

 

Historical Fiction:

Ranger in Time https://www.katemessner.com/ranger-in-time-rescue-on-the-oregon-trail/

I Survived https://www.laurentarshis.com/i-survived 

Time-Travel Adventures With Exceptional Americans Book Series https://www.rushrevere.com/AdventureSeriesBooks/index.html

Little House on the Prairie http://littlehouseontheprairie.com/

 

Sports:

The Kicks https://www.simonandschuster.com/series/The-Kicks

Matt Christopher's books https://www.mattchristopher.com/

Mike Lupica's books http://www.mikelupicabooks.com/books.html

Track https://www.simonandschuster.com/series/Track

 

Cute Picks:

Cupcake Diaries https://www.simonandschuster.net/series/Cupcake-Diaries

Allie Finkle's Rules for Girls https://www.megcabot.com/alliefinkle/

Lauren Myracle books http://www.laurenmyracle.com/

Wendy Mass books https://wendymass.com/books/

Bliss (awesome trilogy) https://www.harpercollins.com/9780062084231/bliss/

Mystery & Spy Stories:

A Series of Unfortunate Events https://www.lemonysnicket.com/books/

The mysterious Benedict Society https://www.mysteriousbenedictsociety.com/

39 Clues https://kids.scholastic.com/kids/books/the-39-clues/

The name of this book is a secret http://www.thesecretseries.com/

Mr. Lemoncello's Library https://chrisgrabenstein.com/books/escape-from-mr-lemoncellos-library/

The Magic Misfits https://www.lbyr.com/titles/neil-patrick-harris/the-magic-misfits/9780316355582/

Spy School (check his other books!) https://stuartgibbs.com/books-2/spy-school/

Alex Rider series https://www.anthonyhorowitz.com/books/list/series/alex-rider

Nancy Drew https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/series/NAD/nancy-drew and Hardy Boys https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/series/HAB/the-hardy-boys (older but great!)

 

Non- Fiction:

Who is & was, Where is, What is & was, What is the story of (NEW) - 1.0 point each, very fun! http://www.whowasbookseries.com/

 

Older Students: (UG - Upper Grade may have content not suited for younger students)

Eragon (Inheritance Cycle) https://www.paolini.net/works/

Legend & War Cross series http://onetrueportal.com/marielu/books

Divergent series https://veronicarothbooks.com/books/divergent/

Hunger Games series (new book coming out in May!) http://www.suzannecollinsbooks.com/index.htm

Renegades https://renegades.universeofmarissameyer.com/

The Selection http://www.kieracass.com/books

Uglies https://scottwesterfeld.com/books/uglies/

Scythe https://www.storyman.com/books/scythe/

 

5. Best book she ever read

 

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery. Students always ask her about her favorite book. She has read this book many times during her life since a very young age. Always a different message. Always amazing. https://www.thelittleprince.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

Check:

https://www.commonsensemedia.org/book-reviews/

 

https://www.commonsensemedia.org/lists/50-books-all-kids-should-read-before-theyre-12

 

https://www.goodreads.com/